Many of the credit card offers that appear on this site are from credit card issuers from which MillionMileSecrets.com receives compensation. Compensation does not impact the placement of cards on Million Mile Secrets other than in banner advertising. MillionMileSecrets.com does not include all credit card offers that might be available to consumers in the marketplace.

Editorial Note: We're the Million Mile Secrets team. And we're proud of our content, opinions and analysis, and of our reader's comments. These haven’t been reviewed, approved or endorsed by any of the airlines, hotels, or credit card issuers which we often write about. And that’s just how we like it! :)

The Best Chase credit cards for 2020

Signing up for credit cards through partner links earns us a commission. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. Here’s our full Advertising Policy.

The Best Chase credit cards for 2020

Jason StaufferThe Best Chase credit cards for 2020Million Mile Secrets Team

Signing up for credit cards through partner links earns us a commission. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. Here’s our full Advertising Policy.

Savvy readers in the miles and points hobby keep multiple Chase cards in their wallets because many of the best travel credit cards are issued by Chase, including good cash back credit cards and a great hotel credit card. But the bank also has tougher application rules, which makes it harder to get Chase rewards credit cards if you open lots of new accounts with other banks. That’s why we usually recommend that miles and points beginners start by applying for Chase cards first.

Recently, Chase has partnered with DoorDash and Lyft to add more benefits to certain cards. Here’s a look at the best Chase cards by category.

Summary of best Chase credit cards for 2020

CardSign-up bonus & minimum spending requirementsOur review
Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card
60,000 Chase Ultimate Rewards points after spending $4,000 on purchases within the first three months of opening your accountThe #1 card for beginners
Chase Sapphire Reserve®50,000 Chase Ultimate Rewards points after spending $4,000 on purchases within the first three months of opening your account
Lots of folks love this premium credit card because of the ongoing perks!
Chase Freedom Unlimited®Earn a $150 cash bonus after spending $500 in the first three months from account opening.Read our review of this card, which has one of the easiest rewards earning structures around!
Chase Freedom®$150 bonus (15,000 Chase Ultimate Rewards points) after spending $500 on purchases within the first three months of opening your accountHere's our review of this great no-annual-fee card!
Ink Business Preferred℠ Credit Card
80,000 Chase Ultimate Rewards points after spending $5,000 on purchases within the first three months of opening your accountRead why this is the top card pick for small business owners
Ink Business Cash℠ Credit Card$500 bonus (50,000 Chase Ultimate Rewards points) after spending $3,000 on purchases within the first three months of opening your accountWith the increased sign-up bonus, this might be the biggest no-brainer deal of the year
The World Of Hyatt Credit CardUp to 50,000 bonus points - earn 25,000 bonus points after you spend $3,000 on purchases in the first three months. Plus, an additional 25,000 bonus points after you spend a total of $6,000 on purchases in the first 6 months of account opening.Read our review of this terrific card for Hyatt hotel stays
Chase offers many fantastic rewards credit cards to get you to your beach vacation or put some cash back in your pocket. (Photo by Martin Valigursky/Shutterstock.)

Best Chase credit cards for 2020

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

Best for beginners

Bonus

When you sign up for Chase Sapphire Preferred, you’ll earn 60,000 Chase Ultimate Rewards points after spending $4,000 on purchases in the first three months of opening your account.

Benefits

Chase Sapphire Preferred benefits and perks including the ability to earn 2x Chase Ultimate Rewards points on travel and dining and one point per dollar on all other purchases. Also, through March 2022 you’ll earn 5x points on Lyft rides.

This card also comes with primary car rental insurance when you pay for the rental with your card. You’ll even get solid trip delay insurance for up to $500 back per ticket on incidentals like transportation, meals and lodging when your trip is delayed more than 12 hours or requires an overnight stay. And if your baggage is delayed you’ll be reimbursed up to $100 per day for up to five days for incidental expenses like toiletries and clothing if the delay is longer than 6 hours.

Sapphire Preferred cardmembers are eligible for at least a free year of DashPass, which normally costs $9.99/month and gets you waived delivery fees on DoorDash orders of $12+ at participating restaurants. You must activate this benefit by Dec. 31, 2021 to qualify.

Annual fee

The card has a $95 annual fee.

Our take

The Chase Sapphire Preferred is the #1 card we recommend for beginners in the miles and points hobby. This card earns Chase Ultimate Rewards points, which you can transfer to airline and hotel partners like Hyatt, Southwest and United Airlines. Or you can quickly redeem points to save on airfare, hotels or car rentals through the Chase travel portal. The sign-up bonus is worth $750 in travel when you book through the Chase portal. Because Chase Ultimate Rewards points transfer to so many partners, this card gives you more flexibility than even the best airline credit cards.

Apply here for the Chase Sapphire Preferred.

Chase Sapphire Reserve®

Best for travelers

Bonus

When you sign up for Chase Sapphire Reserve, you’ll earn 50,000 Chase Ultimate Rewards points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first three months from account opening.  

Benefits

The Chase Sapphire Reserve benefits include the ability to earn 3x Chase Ultimate Rewards points on travel (excluding $300 travel credit), 10x points on Lyft rides (through March 2022) and dining worldwide and one Chase point on all other purchases.

The best perk for this card is the annual $300 in travel credits, which are automatically earned whenever you make a qualify purchase including airfare, hotels, rental cars and more. You also get an application fee credit (worth up to $100) for Global Entry or TSA PreCheck every four years. The card also includes a Priority Pass Select membership, which gets you and up to two guests access to 1,200+ airport lounges.

You can also receive a free year of a Lyft Pink membership when you activate the benefit by March 31, 2022. Lyft Pink is a membership that normally costs $19.99/month and comes with perks, like:

  • 15% off all rides
  • Three free cancellations a month (if you rebook within 15 minutes)
  • Three free bike/scooter rides per month
  • Priority airport pickups
  • Waived lost and found fees
  • “Surprise offers” — including seasonal discounts and exclusive savings

To activate your membership add your Sapphire Reserve card as a payment option in your Lyft app and you’ll be prompted to activate your Lyft Pink membership.

The card also comes with $60 in DoorDash credit in 2020 and another $60 in credit in 2021. The credit will automatically be applied to DoorDash orders when you pay with the card. On top of that, you’re also eligible for at least a year of free DashPass (normally $9.99/month), you must activate the offer by Dec. 31, 2021. DashPass gets you waived delivery fees on orders of $12 or more at participating restaurants.

Annual fee

The Chase Sapphire Reserve annual fee is $550.

Our take

The Chase Sapphire Reserve is the best premium travel rewards credit card. The Sapphire Reserve sign-up bonus is worth at least $750 in travel. And with the $300 annual credit for travel purchases every cardmember anniversary, that’s $1,050 in value in the first year, not counting other money-saving perks you enjoy as a cardholder.

Be sure to run the numbers when deciding between the Chase Sapphire Preferred and Chase Sapphire Reserve. For example, you’re effectively paying a $250 annual fee with the Chase Sapphire Reserve ($550 annual fee – $300 travel credit). You’ll pay a $95 annual fee for the Chase Sapphire Preferred. So you’ll effectively pay $155 more each year ($250 – $95) to get many extra perks, like lounge access, more bonus points on travel and dining purchases, rental car discounts and much more.

Chase has these restrictions for their Sapphire-branded credit cards. You cannot have more than one Sapphire-branded credit card open at the same time.

Apply for the Chase Sapphire Reserve card.

You can use points from your Sapphire Reserve account to save money on a trip to far-flung spots like Sydney. (Photo by Lux Blue/iStock.)

Chase Freedom Unlimited®

Best for cash back

Bonus

With Chase Freedom Unlimited, you can earn a $150 bonus after you spend $500 on purchases in the first three months from account opening. You also can combine the points you earn with other eligible Chase cards, which helps you save money on travel.

Benefits

The main Chase Freedom Unlimited benefit is the ability to earn unlimited 1.5% cash back on purchases, with no minimum redemption amount. You’ll also get 5% back on Lyft rides through March 2022.

Freedom Unlimited cardmembers are eligible for three months of complimentary DashPass, which normally costs $9.99/month and gets you waived delivery fees on DoorDash orders of $12+ at participating restaurants. You must activate this benefit by Dec. 31, 2021 to qualify and after the first three free months you can continue the membership at a 50% discount for the next nine months.

Annual fee

The Chase Freedom Unlimited has no annual fee.

Our take

If you don’t want to bother with bonus categories, the Chase Freedom Unlimited card is a great way to earn Chase Ultimate Rewards points.

Apply here for the Chase Freedom Unlimited.

Best no-annual-fee card

Bonus

You can earn a $150 bonus with the Chase Freedom card after you spend $500 on purchases within the first three months of account opening.

Benefits

Chase Freedom benefits are top notch for a no-annual-fee cards because you can earn 5% cash back (5x Chase Ultimate Rewards points per $1) on up to $1,500 in spending in rotating categories each quarter when you activate the bonus. If you spend the maximum each quarter, you can earn $300 in bonus cash back during the year. You’ll also get 5% back on Lyft rides through March 2022.

Freedom cardmembers are eligible for the same DoorDash perks as Freedom Unlimited cardholders. You can get three months of complimentary DashPass, which normally costs $9.99/month and gets you waived delivery fees on DoorDash orders of $12+ at participating restaurants. You must activate this benefit by Dec. 31, 2021 to qualify and after the first three free months you can continue the membership at a 50% discount for the next nine months.

Annual fee

This card has no annual fee.

Our take

The Chase Ultimate Rewards points you earn with the Chase Freedom card are worth one cent each toward cash back or travel. But your Chase points have more value if you have cards like the Chase Sapphire Preferred CardChase Sapphire Reserve or Ink Business Preferred Credit Card.

When you have one of these cards, you can combine your points and transfer them to lots of great airline and hotel partners, like Hyatt and Southwest. That’s why being able to transfer your points is so powerful.

Apply here for the Chase Freedom.

(Photo by Wyatt Smith)

Best small-business card

Bonus

Earn 80,000 Chase Ultimate Rewards points after you spend $5,000 on purchases in the first three months from account opening. This fantastic welcome bonus is a big reason why the Chase Ink Business Preferred is our #1 pick. If you like basic cash back, the 80,000-point bonus offer is worth $800, but can be worth more when it’s used for travel.

Benefits

The Ink Business Preferred card earns 3x Chase Ultimate Rewards points for every dollar you spend on travel, shipping purchases, internet, cable and phone services, and advertising purchases made with social media sites and search engines (up to a maximum of $150,000 in combined purchases each account anniversary year). You’ll earn 5x points on Lyft rides through March 2022 and one Chase Ultimate Rewards points per dollar on all other purchases.

When you pay for you cell phone bill with the card you’ll get cell phone protection for up to $600 per claim (up to three claims per year) against covered theft or damage with a $100 deductible. The card also has an array of travel coverages including, rental car insurance (primary when renting for business purposes), baggage delay insurance, trip delay protection and lost luggage coverage. Also, eligible purchases will get extended warranty coverage of an additional year when the original warranty is three years or less.

Annual fee

The Ink Business Preferred card has a $95 annual fee.

Our take

The Ink Business Preferred is our overall best business credit card because, in addition to the huge introductory bonus, it also has generous bonus spending categories and great built-in insurance. Million Mile Secrets staff and readers alike have saved by using perks like the card’s trip delay coverage, rental car insurance and cell phone insurance.

Apply here for the Chase Ink Business Preferred.

Team member Meghan transferred Chase Ultimate Rewards points to United Airlines for award tickets to beautiful Belize. (Photo by Aleksandar Todorovic/Shutterstock.)

Ink Business Cash℠ Credit Card

Best no-annual-fee business card

Bonus

The Ink Business Cash credit card has an intro offer of $500 cash-back bonus after you spend $3,000 in purchases within the first three months of opening your account.

Benefits

The card also has excellent bonus categories. You’ll earn 5% cash back on the first $25,000 you spend in combined purchases at office supply stores and on phone, internet and cable TV services each account anniversary year, then 1%. And you’ll get 2% cash back on the first $25,000 spent in combined purchases at gas stations and restaurants each account anniversary year, then 1%. You’ll also get 5% back on Lyft rides through March 2022 and all other purchases will earn 1% back.

Annual fee

For small-business owners, it’s hard to top the welcome bonus you’ll get with the no-annual-fee Chase Ink Business Cash card.

Our take

If you spend a lot in the bonus categories, the Chase Ink Business Cash can put money back toward your bottom line. Like other Chase cards, it’s subject to the 5/24 rule, but because it’s a small-business card, it won’t count toward your 5/24 status when you open it. You can combine the points you earn with this card with other cards that earn Ultimate Rewards points, even personal cards.

Considering there’s no annual fee, the $500 welcome offer is extremely generous. If you decide to apply, check out our Chase Ink Cash approval tips.

Apply here for the Ink Business Cash℠ Credit Card.

The World of Hyatt Credit Card

Best hotel card

Bonus

With the Hyatt credit card, you can earn up to 50,000 Hyatt points after meeting tiered spending requirements. You’ll earn:

  • 25,000 bonus Hyatt points after you spend $3,000 on purchases in the first three months of opening your account
  • Another 25,000 bonus Hyatt points after you spend an additional $3,000 on purchases within the first six months of opening your account

Benefits

You’ll also get 9x Hyatt points at Hyatt, four bonus points per dollar when you use your card at Hyatt hotels and five base points per dollar you earn as a World of Hyatt member. This card also earns 2x points per dollar on restaurants, airline tickets purchased directly from the airlines, local transit and commuting, fitness clubs and gym memberships. Every other purchase earns one point per $1 on everything else.

The card comes with a free night each anniversary year valid at a Category 1-4 Hyatt hotel or resort. You can also earn an additional free night at a Category 1-4 Hyatt hotel or resort after spending $15,000 in an anniversary year. The card comes with automatic Hyatt Discoverist Status (more bonus points per stay, upgrades to a preferred room based on availability at check-in, late checkout upon request, etc.). This card is also a good tool for helping you earn Hyatt status, every year you’ll get five elite night credits every year and you’ll earn two elite night credits after every $5,000 you spend on the card.

Annual fee

The card comes with a $95 annual fee.

Our take

The bonus on the Chase Hyatt card is especially valuable considering you can reserve astronomically expensive hotels, like the Park Hyatt Milan, for 30,000 Hyatt points per night. Rooms at that hotel can go for ~$700 per night. This is one of the reasons it made our list of best hotel credit cards.

Apply here for The World of Hyatt Credit Card.

How we choose the best Chase credit cards

Welcome bonus: We like cards with valuable welcome bonuses because you can quickly come out ahead with tremendous perks, even on a card that carries an annual fee.

Rewards for everyday purchases: It’s great when a card earns rewards on everyday purchases, especially if you choose one that earns rewards to match your daily spending patterns.

Perks and benefits: We like perks that not only save you money like free night certificates but also enhance your flying experience with airport lounge access. These perks and benefits can be packed with value that is sometimes overlooked.

How maximize Chase Ultimate Rewards cards

Chase Ultimate Rewards points can be redeemed in a variety of ways. You can redeem them for statement credits or gift cards, but you’ll only be getting one cent per point in value. If you have the Sapphire Preferred or Ink Business Preferred you can get 1.25 cents per point when you pay for travel booked through the Chase Travel Portal and that value bumps up to 1.5 cents a point with the Sapphire Reserve.

That’s not bad and using the Chase portal gets the value of your Chase points headed in the right direction, but the best way to use Chase points is to transfer them to travel partners. This is where redeeming your points gets a bit more complicated, but the reward is a potential exponential return for your efforts. Let me give you two real-life examples.

My parents were planning a West Coast road trip and they wanted to include a stop in San Francisco. At the time you could book the Hyatt Centric Fisherman’s Wharf for only 15,000 Hyatt points a night (it now costs 20,000 per night). This was great news because Hyatt is a 1:1 transfer partner with Chase. On the nights they wanted to stay the cash price (including taxes) was about $650! On that redemption each Chase points was worth 4.33 cents, which is exceptional.

Another time I transferred Chase points to Singapore Airlines to book one-way first-class tickets from Auckland to Singapore. Currently, this award costs 85,000 miles per person, but at the time it was only 67,500 miles per person. The same first-class seats can easily run $5,000 or more, which is a value of over seven cents per point.

And these are just two ways that I’ve personally gotten the most from my Chase points, there are countless other ways for you to do the same. You can even use Chase points to book flights with any of the three major airline alliances and with other airlines like JetBlue and Southwest.

Chase application rules

While Chase issues many of the most valuable rewards credit cards, it also has some fairly tough application guidelines. For starters, you won’t be approved for any Chase card if you’re over the 5/24 rule. The way this rule works is this, if you’ve opened five or more cards from any bank in the past 24 months you aren’t eligible for a new Chase card.

But, if you qualifying for business cards you’re in luck. Most business cards won’t appear on your personal credit report, which means they won’t add to your 5/24 count. So you can open the top business credit cards without disqualifying yourself from other Chase cards. Keep in mind that business cards from banks like Discover and Capital One will show up on your personal credit report.

The cool thing about this business card work around is that even Chase business cards don’t add to your 5/24 count. However, you’ll still need to be under 5/24 in order to get approved for a Chase business card. So for example, if you’re at 4/24 and you apply for the Ink Business Unlimited, you’ll stay put at 4/25 and still be eligible for other Chase cards.

Chase also has rules that apply only to specific cards. For example, you can’t hold more than one version of the Sapphire card at the same time. And if you’ve earned a welcome bonus from a Sapphire card in the past 48 months you an ineligible for a new Sapphire card. The Sapphire cards you can still apply for are the Sapphire Preferred and the Sapphire Reserve.

Credit score needed for Chase credit cards

We’ve written before about the minimum credit score you need for Chase credit cards. For most of the cards, you should be shooting to have at least a credit score of 700 or higher. For the Sapphire Reserve, a premium card, you’ll want to have a score even higher than that. But for some of the credit cards with no annual fee, like the Chase Freedom or Chase Freedom Unlimited, you can get away with a slightly lower score.

However, at the end of the day whether or not your application is approved has to do with much more than just your credit score. Chase will consider other factors, like your income, recent credit report activity and history with the bank.

Which Chase credit cards are the best?

Our favorite Chase credit card offers right now are:

The best Chase card for your wallet depends on your travel and financial goals. Lots of Million Mile Secrets readers have more than one of these cards because Chase cards offer lucrative sign-up bonuses and excellent benefits.

For more credit card news, deals and analysis sign-up for our newsletter here.

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

  • Earn 60,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. That's $750 toward travel when you redeem through Chase Ultimate Rewards®
  • 2X points on travel and dining at restaurants worldwide & 1 point per dollar spent on all other purchases.
  • Get 25% more value when you redeem for airfare, hotels, car rentals and cruises through Chase Ultimate Rewards. For example, 60,000 points are worth $750 toward travel
  • Get unlimited deliveries with a $0 delivery fee and reduced service fees on orders over $12 for a minimum of one year on qualifying food purchases with DashPass, DoorDash's subscription service. Activate by 12/31/21.
  • Earn 5X points on Lyft rides through March 2022. That’s 3X points in addition to the 2X points you already earn on travel.

More Info

Editorial Note: We're the Million Mile Secrets team. And we're proud of our content, opinions and analysis, and of our reader's comments. These haven’t been reviewed, approved or endorsed by any of the airlines, hotels, or credit card issuers which we often write about. And that’s just how we like it! :)

Add comment

E-mail is already registered on the site. Please use the Login form or enter another.

You entered an incorrect username or password

Sorry that something went wrong, repeat again!

495comments

by Newest
by Best by Newest by Oldest
Derek (DebrianTravels.com)

Frankly, I LOVE these changes. I only use the Fourth Night Free maybe once a year. I like that the credit is now a general travel credit (though I have used the airfare credit in total ever since I have had this card), but the 5x dining is a major game changers. I waited for about 18 months to get the Chase Sapphire Reserve and use it for all my dining and travel. Come January, I will shift the dining spend to the Citi Prestige. I do potentially see value in the Sapphire Reserve for the 3x travel but I am not sure that that alone is worth keeping the card given what I can earn on other cards. I have the Ink Business Preferred so I still have a path to travel rewards if I close the Sapphire Reserve. The fact that Chase makes it so hard to get their cards makes me hestitant to close it but I do not have to decide right now. Last winter, I wrote a series of articles on my blog doing a deep dive analysis on my credit card portfolio. When it comes time for next year’s edition, I am going to have to do some serious analysis on the Sapphire Reserve and decide what to do before the renewal date.

I love it only from the information i saw. ive never used a credit card before. i hope i can get one through this giveaway thanks

Love the Chase Sapphire Reserve! Can’t beat the earning power and it’s so easy to redeem points through the Chase site. Airport lounge access through Priority Pass is a key perk as well.

We like the Chase IHG card best, although we have several of the others. We like to stay at Holiday Inn Express when we’re on the road because of easy access, they’re clean & comfortable, and the hot breakfasts make it quick & easy to get back on the road.

Load more