Chase Southwest Plus card review: Biggest ever bonus worth more than $1,100

Signing up for credit cards through partner links earns us a commission. Terms apply to the offers listed on this page. Here’s our full Advertising Policy.

Update: One or more card offers in this post are no longer available. Check our Hot Deals for the latest offers.

Southwest is a Chase transfer partner, so you can earn points with cards like the Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card, then move them directly to your Southwest frequent flyer account.

However, transferring points will not count toward earning the Southwest Companion Pass, which we consider to be the best deal in travel. That’s why many choose to apply for Chase Southwest credit cards, like the Southwest Rapid Rewards® Plus Credit Card, which currently has an increased bonus worth up to 75,000 Southwest points after meeting the card’s tiered minimum spending requirements. That’s worth ~$1,125 in travel on Southwest. The card also has the lowest annual fee among any of the available Southwest credit cards.

Here’s our full Southwest Plus card review.

Chase Southwest Plus card review: Use the bonus to take one of Southwest’s newest flights to Hawaii. (Photo courtesy of Southwest)

Who is this card for?

Whether you fly Southwest with any regularity or not, this card provides an excellent way to rack up Southwest points with an unusually low annual fee of $69. It’s the cheapest Southwest card to hold, so it’s very low risk if you decide the card doesn’t fit your lifestyle. If your travel goals include domestic flights, flights to Hawaii, the Caribbean, Mexico, or Central America, pay attention to this card.

However, we don’t recommend anyone apply for travel credit cards unless they’ve got a credit score above 700. If that’s not an issue for you, there are some other rules you should know:

  • The Chase Southwest Plus card is subject to the Chase 5/24 rule. If you’ve applied for five or more credit cards from any bank (excluding certain business credit cards) in the past 24 months, Chase won’t approve you for this card
  • It’s no longer possible to have more than one personal Southwest card at the same time. If you have a Southwest personal card, you’ll need to cancel it before you open this one (you can still get one or more business cards and a personal card)
  • If you previously had the Chase Southwest Plus card, you should be able to earn the bonus again as long as it has been at least 24 months since you previously earned it

Current bonus

You’re going to want to sit down for this. When you open the Chase Southwest Plus card, you’ll earn up to 75,000 Southwest points after meeting tiered minimum spending requirements:

  • 40,000 points after spending $1,000 on purchases within the first three months of account opening
  • 35,000 more points after spending $5,000 on purchases within the first six months of account opening

You’ll find that Southwest points value hovers around 1.5 cents each for Southwest flights. That makes this highest-ever 75,000 point offer worth ~$1,125 in Southwest flights. Unbelievable value for a card with such a small annual fee.

Benefits and perks of the Southwest Plus card

The Southwest Plus card benefits include valuable travel and shopping protections and perks, and can make the annual fee worth paying year after year.

Southwest Companion Pass

The Southwest Companion Pass is the best deal in travel — it allows you to bring along a travel buddy for just the cost of taxes and fees, every single time you fly Southwest. The Chase Southwest Plus bonus can get you more than halfway to earning it.

To qualify for the Southwest Companion Pass, you’ll need to earn 125,000 qualifying Southwest points in a calendar year. The easiest way to earn the Companion Pass is by opening one personal and one business Southwest card and meeting minimum spending requirements.

Once you’ve earned the Companion Pass, a friend or family member can travel with you on paid and award flights for nearly free (just the cost of taxes and fees). Some of us on the Million Mile Secrets team have saved thousands of dollars with the Companion Pass.

I earned the Southwest Companion Pass this year to save money and points on fun trips with my kids. (Photo by Jasmin Baron/Million Mile Secrets)

3,000 Southwest points every year

Each year on your cardmember anniversary, you’ll receive 3,000 bonus Southwest points. At a value of 1.5 cents per point, that’s worth ~$45 in airfare and knocks out most of the annual fee cost.

Rental car insurance

When you decline a car rental company’s collision insurance and charge the entire rental to your Southwest Plus card, you’ll be covered for theft and collision damage on most rental cars. In the U.S., this coverage is secondary to your personal insurance.

Baggage delay insurance

If you use your Southwest Plus card to pay for your flight, you can get reimbursed for essentials like toiletries and clothing if your bags are delayed for more than six hours. Coverage is up to $100 per day for three days.

Lost luggage reimbursement

If you or an immediate family member’s checked or carry-on bags are damaged or lost by the carrier, you’re covered up to $3,000 per passenger.

Purchase protection

The Chase Southwest Plus protects your eligible new purchases for 120 days against damage or theft, up to $500 per claim and $50,000 per account.

Extended warranty

The Chase Southwest Plus extends the time period of a U.S. manufacturer’s warranty by an additional year on eligible warranties of three years or less.

Travel accident insurance

When you use your card to purchase an eligible trip, you’ll receive travel accident insurance for yourself and immediate family. This includes accidental death, dismemberment and loss of speech, sight and hearing. Coverage extends up to $500,000.

Travel and emergency assistance services (Visa Signature only)

If you’re traveling and need help with relaying an emergency message back home or need a medical or legal referral, you can call the Benefits Administrator for help 24 hours a day. You will be responsible for the cost of any goods or services obtained.

Roadside Dispatch

For a flat fee per call, you can get roadside dispatch for common mishaps like:

  • Towing – up to five miles included
  • Tire changing – must have good, inflated spare
  • Jump-starting – battery boost
  • Lockout service (no key replacement)
  • Fuel delivery – up to five gallons (cost of fuel not included)
  • Winching (within 100 feet of paved or county-maintained road only)

To access roadside dispatch, call 800-847-2869. It’s not free (~$60 per call), but it’s helpful if you don’t have your own roadside coverage.

How to redeem points

With the Chase Southwest Plus, you’ll earn Southwest points in three ways:

  • 2 Southwest points per dollar on Southwest purchases, including airfare
  • 1 Southwest point per dollar on everything else
  • 3,000 Southwest points after your cardmember anniversary

The number of points you’ll pay for a Southwest award flight is based on the cash price of the ticket. What makes Southwest points so valuable is that there are never any blackout dates. If there’s a seat for sale on the airplane, you can use Southwest points to book it. Check out our post on the best ways to use Southwest points.

Again, Southwest points value are ~1.5 apiece. The 75,000 Southwest point welcome bonus is worth about $1,125 in flights.

Redeeming your points is a very straightforward process. Head over to the Southwest website and search for flights as you normally would, including departure and destination airport, dates of travel and number of passengers. Be sure to check the “Points” box in the top right corner of the page. Look for Wanna Get Away fares because these are the cheapest and cost the fewest number of points.

You’ll then get a list of flight options with their corresponding points cost. When there’s a fare sale, you’ll pay fewer points, but expensive last-minute flights cost a lot more.

Another reason we love using Southwest points is the airline’s generous change and cancellation policy. If you need to modify a Southwest flight (whether paid with cash or points), you won’t pay any fees, unlike other airlines. And if you need to cancel, the points or cash you spent on the flight are deposited into your Southwest account for future use.

Plus, you’ll always get two free checked bags on Southwest. Most other airlines charge $30 for a first bag and even more for the second, so this can translate into tremendous savings.

Is the annual fee worth it?

The Chase Southwest Plus annual fee is $69 and is applied during your first billing statement. It’s absolutely worth the fee to earn 75,000 Southwest points after meeting the card’s tiered minimum spending requirements.

As for the long term, you’ll earn 3,000 points every cardmember anniversary. Because Southwest points are worth ~1.5 cents each toward Southwest flights, you can get a value of $45 from your anniversary points (1.5 cents per point x 3,000 points).

With this perk alone, you’ll cover most of the cost of the annual fee, and if you make use of any of the other benefits, you come out way ahead.

Insider secrets

This card’s bonus in positively unignorable. It’s a jaw-dropping deal, and I’m not just saying that. However, even if you fly Southwest regularly, you’ll often do better to reserve your flights with a non-Southwest credit card, like the Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card or the Chase Sapphire Reserve®. You’ll earn an equal (or greater) number of Chase points for your purchase than you would Southwest points — and Chase points transfer to Southwest at a 1:1 ratio. Plus, you’ll get improved travel insurance, such as baggage delay insurance and trip delay insurance.

Read our Chase Sapphire Preferred review for more details.

Bottom line

Currently, when you sign up for the Chase Southwest Plus card, you’ll earn an all-time high 75,000 Southwest points after meeting the tiered minimum spending requirements.

The sign-up bonus and the points you earn from making purchases with the Chase Southwest Plus card count toward earning the Southwest Companion Pass, the top deal in travel. With the Companion Pass, you can add a designated friend or loved one to your paid or award reservation for just the cost of taxes and fees, which is typically ~$11 for round-trip flights within the U.S.

You can apply for the Chase Southwest Plus card here.

For the latest tips and tricks on traveling big without spending a fortune, please subscribe to the Million Mile Secrets daily email newsletter.

 

Joseph Hostetler is a full-time writer for Million Mile Secrets, covering miles and points tips and tricks, as well as helpful travel-related news and deals.

Editorial Note: We're the Million Mile Secrets team. And we're proud of our content, opinions and analysis, and of our reader's comments. These haven’t been reviewed, approved or endorsed by any of the airlines, hotels, or credit card issuers which we often write about. And that’s just how we like it! :)

Join the Discussion!

Subscribe
Notify of
209 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
John
1 year ago

Are you limited to earning the SW bonus every 2 years on all SW cards or just per each product line? For example, it’s been over 2 years since I earned the SW bonus on the Premier SW but less than 2 years since I earned the bonus on the Plus card. (Back then you could apply for both cards).

Wilma
1 year ago

SFO to Orlando for some Disney!

Katey M
1 year ago

OKC to LIR – we loved everything about Costa Rica and getting there on Southwest with the companion pass and points saved us a ton of money! The Andaz Papagayo was on my bucket list and did not disappoint!

Michael H
1 year ago

PVD-MCO. No doubt I great flight to a great place.

Carolyn Johnson
1 year ago

My favorite Southwest redemption was booking flights to Aruba to celebrate our 65th birthdays (3 months apart) for January, 2019. I booked the flights in September for 28k points each, and then checked back later during a Southwest sale and rebooked the flights for 21k each. The icing on the cake was earning the companion fare for 2019 and getting back 21k points. So excited about our trip to Aruba on Southwest in January!

Jayne
1 year ago

My favorite SW redemption was flying my son and his wife from Chicago to Ft. Lauderdale for his brother’s wedding!

shelley
1 year ago

My favory South West redemption will be to Hawaii!

Betsy
1 year ago

My fav. trip using SWA (best airline ever!) points was to New Orleans. Nice trip!

Robt.
1 year ago

My favorite use of SW points will be to HAWAII !!!

Cynthia
1 year ago

My favorite use of Southwest points is as a cheap way to get to the jump off airport for my other great award redemptions and great fare sales. That way I don’t have to rely as much on all the great flights leaving from my home airport.

mjhicks
1 year ago

With all the cheap flights from Boston or New York to Europe. I fly cheaper by using Southwest to get there. The problem in Boston bcse the connection time, u may need to stay overnight.

Andrew P
1 year ago

My favorite redemption was for a quick mid-week trip to Miami

Liz
1 year ago

I use SW points to fly to Denver to visit family.

Gary
1 year ago

I used my points for a trip to Seattle. Also multiple trips to Dallas and using my companion pass still have plenty points for 2019

Martine
1 year ago

I received a companion pass this year and made a list of all the places SW flies that I have always wanted to go to… I didn’t make all of them but we did go to Charleston, Albuquerque, Chicago…. All on miles and the companion pass. Also, we were able to bring our son back and forth to college in Miami via Southwest… several times using miles.

Loraine
1 year ago

I have used my Southwest points to go to Vegas, SF, Portland, Reno, and Cancun with my companion pass! Can’t wait for Hawaii!

shannon
1 year ago

I’d like to head to Cuba

Jennifer H.
1 year ago

I’ve used my points for an annual trip to Florida for the family and haven’t paid more than the $11 fee in years. I love Southwest!

Susan
1 year ago

I like to head to AZ.

Han
1 year ago

I use points for flights between the northeast United States.

Deborah Blake
1 year ago

Not enough points but saving up!

Thomas
1 year ago

I’d go to SFO.

Michele
1 year ago

Snow on the ground, and more snow on the way… so I’d say anywhere warm!

Randy
1 year ago

I luv to fly RIC to MCO to visit Mickey Mouse and MY GRANDBABIES!

Jason brewer
1 year ago

I love redeeming for free flights to vegas!

Theresa seitz
1 year ago

Pittsburgh is where I would go with my flying points…

Sutasinee
1 year ago

Vegas trip

Sher
1 year ago

Trip to Disneyworld!

Paula
1 year ago

Getting my sick nephew home at the last minute.

Krista Smith
1 year ago

Vegas and LA

Wendy
1 year ago

Los Angeles to Lake Tahoe

Girish George
1 year ago

Trip to Houston!!

Camilla
1 year ago

Taking my daughter who is a young stay at home mom with toddlers to Florida for a girls weekend!

Henry
1 year ago

I know it’s cliche, but family vacation to Orlando

Larry
1 year ago

Trips from and to San Jose, California

Rob
1 year ago

Visiting family back on the East coast.

Cathy Edwards
1 year ago

Trip to New York!

Dianna
1 year ago

Waiting for Hawaii

rmah
1 year ago

the booking/cancellation policy is toooooooo good!

The Castle Traveler
1 year ago

My favorite SWA points redemption was last June when my family flew free to Charleston on points and a Companion Pass.

Ireta
1 year ago

I like that you can book with points, but if your plans change you can cancel. And, the points get redeposited into your account.

SD Murray
1 year ago

I love using my SW card to see my college student in Florida!

Nissim
1 year ago

last minute flying with free baggage and cancellations

Cindy
1 year ago

Last minute holiday flight so Grandpa could spend time with our daughter and three grandsons while husband/Dad was deployed overseas. Those memories were made possible thanks to our stash of Southwest points.

Jeanne Burch
1 year ago

Southwest is flying to Hawaii soon. I’m saving my points for that. Aloha!

Kathy
1 year ago

Fly SWA all the time, went to New Orleans last weekend with my husband for out anniversary on points and the companion pass, taking my daughter to San Francisco next week for her 16th B day again on points and CP. What’s not to luv!

Brian
1 year ago

The Southwest CCs are not a good choice for me. Other than the signup bonus, I don’t get any perks from it.

Eddie Shih
1 year ago

SW points worth more than 1.5 cents sometimes.

Linda Mintz
1 year ago

Invited to a second Thanksgiving, no problem. We’re using Southwest points to fly to Providence, RI for a another turkey and all the trimmings. Thanks for the invite Auntie and thank you Southwest.

Kim
1 year ago

I like keeping my Southwest points for last-minute travel, when they can be a bit more flexible than other airlines.

J. Perkins
1 year ago

My favorite redemption with Southwest to date is my using my CUR pts to fly to Chicago for the Chicago Seminars. I really look forward to flying to Hawaii with Southwest w/ its pts.

Nicole
1 year ago

My favorite Southwest redemption is Orlando.

Lane Wood
1 year ago

My favorite redemption is saving up for future Hawaii flights!!!

faye
1 year ago

I would love to get SW pts to fly to Hawaii one day

jc
1 year ago

My favorite SW redemption will be to Hawaii!! saving up for that!!

Shelley
1 year ago

I love using SW points to go to Mexico! Viva Mexico!!!

Broc
1 year ago

My favorite redemption is likely to be my first one, since I don’t have enough points yet to do so!

Luke US
1 year ago

I recently used SW points to fly from MDW to PHX for a nice vacation! 🙂

Nguyen
1 year ago

Love to redeem SW points to Cancun. Thanks

Patrick
1 year ago

I used my points for a trip to Vegas!

Abe
1 year ago

I recently used my SWA points to fly round trip ISP-TPA.

Shannon
1 year ago

Got multiple flight segments from Baltimore to Puerto Rico off a 50k sign up bonus!

Kat
1 year ago

My family loves to fly Southwest MDW > PHX during spring break/spring training. I use Southwest points to help offset the high cost of traveling during this peak season.

sandra
1 year ago

my favorite is the Southwest Companion Pass

Colleen
1 year ago

I usually redeem for Las Vegas flights, but last year redeemed for a Universal STudios Florida one day ticket. It turned into a great deal when the studio let me add express pass for just $1.00!!! Fab deal and a great day at the park!!!

Alan
1 year ago

My best use of Southwest miles/points was flying home my daughter and granddaughter for my mothers funeral. There was no lead time, so the points came in handy to make a quick decision.

Amy Brown
1 year ago

I have used Chase SW points to fly my son and his wife from the west coast.

Jeff
1 year ago

I usually redeem my Southwest points to travel to Charlotte to visit family

Carole
1 year ago

Puerto Vallarta!

Matt
1 year ago

Haven’t used any points yet, but saving a ton. Hoping to lessen the cost of my honeymoon next year.

Debbie
1 year ago

NYC to see the Rockettes!

christi
1 year ago

I used Southwest points so my son could fly alone to visit his cousins in TX while I did a solo trip to Spain!

Jill
1 year ago

Caribbean

Matt
1 year ago

I use them to fly extended family members around. I cannot stand flying Southwest myself TBH…

Rob P
1 year ago

Las Vegas!

Joyce
1 year ago

I am hoping my favorite redemption will be taking my family to Hawaii!! I am saving – saving – saving points!!

JS
1 year ago

Liberia costa Rica is definitely good value

David Nie
1 year ago

My fav is to redeem for SW airfare

Aleks
1 year ago

Round trip to Florida.

Gayle
1 year ago

No redemption yet; I’m still accumulating.

Mara
1 year ago

My favorite points redemption is when my husband and I were able to take our grandchildren with us to San Antonio on points and we both have a Companion Pass!!

Dan
1 year ago

My favorite redemption was using points from Omaha to Cancun for a weeklong vacation together to escape the weather and kids – and then come back to them of course!

Dave Taube
1 year ago

I haven’t redeemed my Southwest yet. I’m saving them for a big vacation with my wife.

Ernest
1 year ago

I love redeeming for flights out of Burbank airport since it’s so close to my house (and much easier to get in and out compared to LAX).

Stephanie V.
1 year ago

Chase Southwest Plus card

Kristian
1 year ago

On very last minute short flights, I know that I can get a quick ticket with my points.

Geoff
1 year ago

My wife and I both have the companion pass allowing our family of seven to take some pretty great vacations. The last two years we’ve gone to Puerto Rico and Costa Rica. Both Incredible! This blog has helped me to save thousands over the last couple years!

Margie
1 year ago

Wanna get away! Vegas and DC for long weekends!

John E
1 year ago

Redeeming for flights to MCO for Disney.

Shelli
1 year ago

My favorite South West redemption moment… Well all of the them! Anytime I use my points it’s a win!

Kyle
1 year ago

I’ve booked roundtrip tickets for LA – NYC on Southwest for 15k points! Sure, it had a stop, but it was completely worth it!

Hal
1 year ago

Pittsburgh to Ft. Lauderdale in January for under 4000 points. With Companion Pass that is under 2000 points per ticket! With baggage and no change fees.

Ryan W.
1 year ago

My favorite SW redemption is going to Las Vegas with my wife

Rohan
1 year ago

DC to LA for sub-10K points

Leo
1 year ago

I haven’t made any yet since I’m planning to earn the companion pass this year. Next year, I’m going to use the points to go to Costa Rica.

GREGZ
1 year ago

TRIP TO LA

Andrea
1 year ago

Trip to Puerto Vallarta

tiffany
1 year ago

i haven’t made any yet

Anthony
1 year ago

BDL to PIT to visit family using companion pass with my wife.

Dee p
1 year ago

To ABQ for the balloon fiesta. A Must go

Kaz
1 year ago

Favorite redemption is going to Vegas

MB
1 year ago

Favorite SW redemption is using points to go to Seattle or Portland for concerts! 🙂

Ernest B
1 year ago

Open jaw: BWI – SEA and PDX – BWI using the Companion Pass with my wife.

Ernest B
1 year ago

Open jaw: BWI – SEA and PDX – BWI using the Companion Pass with my wife.

Bruce
1 year ago

Southwest to Liberia, Costa Rica

ken gordon
1 year ago

Love to fly southwest to San Antonio for my favorite race.

ken gordon
1 year ago

Using southwest to hop to San Antonio for my favorite race.

Rhett
1 year ago

Using SW to travel from SLC to Vegas or LA. I find Round-Trip flights for only 6k points all the time, it’s crazy when flying becomes cheaper than driving!

Eric
1 year ago

My favorite Southwest points redemption is from LAX to Northern California!

Maynard D
1 year ago

From Washington DC down to Fort Lauderdale to escape the winter!

Elizabeth
1 year ago

My favorite way to use Southwest points is to make good use of my companion pass and explore cities all over the U.S. on long weekends.

GRAHAM
1 year ago

I love their flexibility and the fact that they have a seat available more often than not

Kelly
1 year ago

RDU to FLL to board a cruise

Nobuko
1 year ago

I love their sale and flexibility.

Lance
1 year ago

AUS to DEN to see my grankids as much as possible!!!

Michael DiNovi
1 year ago

BWI-MHT. I fly to New Hampshire, meet my mother in law at the cell phone parking area, and drive her back to Baltimore – all in 11 hours. 8 states in one day. Thanks Southwest.

Tay
1 year ago

Using miles I earn for work is a great way to subsidize personal travel.

Tiffani
1 year ago

I can’t wait to use my Southwest miles to fly to Hawaii!!

Jade
1 year ago

I just learned something – didn’t realize I could go to Aruba with SW miles! So, that’s definitely my fave redemption – using for international travel.

Brad
1 year ago

The flexibility of SW points is the best! I can make a speculative booking while costs are low and always cancel if I change my mind

Judi
1 year ago

Head to PHX to get away from the early snow

Karen
1 year ago

I love visiting my grandchildren out east. I use my points to see them as much as possible!

ana
1 year ago

Love SW. specially with kids as I don’t have to check in 24 hrs in advance!

yvonne
1 year ago

Using the companion pass to travel to FLL for a cruise and to Denver to see family.

Brian
1 year ago

My favorite Southwest redemption is Cancun. It’s such a quick and easy direct flight from Chicago Midway!

Julie
1 year ago

I mostly use my Southwest miles to visit family. Love that I change plans without a penalty!

Chris Smith
1 year ago

Favorite Southwest redemption is Cancun. Soon to be replaced by Maui (I hope!)

Alexis L
1 year ago

I saved a lot of money by using points to go to Fort Lauderdale, FL for spring break in my younger days.

Craig
1 year ago

I used Southwest miles to fly to back from Las Vegas. I combined of another miles program 49th state airline, and flew total combine costs $50-60. Total cost for stay and flight was $300 for 7 days. I have trying bet this sense.

Cassetta Elam
1 year ago

I’ll use the points to fly to NYC as the 1st leg of a girl’s trip to Dubai to celebrate a friend’s 50th birthday!!

Michael J.
1 year ago

Honestly, I can’t remember where I was traveling to, but the great part of the redemption was that I already had a flight booked, but then Southwest had a huge flight sale. I discovered that the points needed for my flight had dropped dramatically (to just under 3000 points) so I booked it and then cancelled the initial reservation. I LOVE this kind of flexibility!!!

Barbara
1 year ago

Flew to tour our National Parks in the Southwest on Southwest.

Julian
1 year ago

My favorite Southwest redemption was for a family vacation in Aruba!

Joe W
1 year ago

I’ve taken 25 flights on SW in 2018 and gotten a free ticket on each one for a companion thanks to the pass. Next year I’ll have A-list status and look forward to using my points for even more flights.

Liz C.
1 year ago

I’d take my niece & nephew to Disneyland with Southwest points.

AJ
1 year ago

My favorite Southwest redemption was a one way paid for with points collected from Southwest car rentals for work travel. Great rates and 1200 or more points per rental.

Diane
1 year ago

Best use of points is flying my sons to Colorado for Christmas. They live in Arizona and Utah both easy Southwest locations!

Steve
1 year ago

Flew to /from Hawaii using miles part of the way. When returning, our flight would not connect in time to get on Southwest flight. Since they do not have cancellation fees, we were able to change to another flight without ruining an already great trip. Now we have a companion pass for two more years.

Kathy
1 year ago

Sorry I could finish below my comments about our trip to Fl. Southwest allow us to change our flights and stay longer to help in the clean up, the destruction in our area was horrendous! We will recover but so many all around us will not! I wish Southwest could help some of our neighbors in Mexico Beach & Port St Joe. ❤️

Charles
1 year ago

I flew our family of five to Costa Rica using Southwest points and two companion passes. It was an awesome trip

Regina
1 year ago

Flying to Seattle!

Kathy
1 year ago

We just returned from Cape San Blas Florida, last week. We have a small home there on the Cape, we were in the path of hurricane Michael! We returned there as soon as we could get in to our area. We lost some of our roof, water damage, to other parts of our home, car was in 30” of water it’s a loss (it was old but)++.

Patrick
1 year ago

Flights between WAS (Washington, DC, airports) and PVD (Providence, RI).

Ba Diep
1 year ago

I go everywhere with SWA. I usually go to Southern California a lot so anywhere there. Los Angeles or San Diego or Orange County.

Stefanie
1 year ago

Never flew southwest until this year. Redeemed points for San Francisco, San Antonio, and our favorite was New Orleans.

Barb
1 year ago

Los Angeles to attend a film festival

Roxanne
1 year ago

Flights to Mexico

Rich
1 year ago

Using thecCompanion pass to Florida to visit family

Bob
1 year ago

Our favorite redemption is using our companion pass to get us to Florida for our niece’s wedding…which is today!

Luckyladyd
1 year ago

We love to use our Southwest points along with our companion pass to take positioning flights so we can fly overseas from just about any major airport in the US with other airlines’ points.

Amanda
1 year ago

Last month I used southwest points to take my 2 oldest to Universal Studios Orlando. It was amazing!

bev Cooper Wright
1 year ago

We frequently fly to and from Mexico City from Harlingen Texas.

MM
1 year ago

My favorite was Missouri to Costa Rica!

Brian H
1 year ago

Have family in Chicago so I like to use my points for flights into Midway

GetToThePoints
1 year ago

Flights to ANYWHERE!!!

Clare N
1 year ago

I like to use Southwest points to fly from Florida to PVD (Providence, RI)

Josh
1 year ago

My favorite to date has been to Aruba!

Lisa
1 year ago

Our favorite trip so far was from Salt Lake to Seattle, where we then drove/ferried to Vancouver Island and on to Vancouver before returning to Seattle. Close second was Salt Lake to Baltimore for a week touring Washington, DC.

Kevin
1 year ago

Having my wife fly free with me

Bruce
1 year ago

MSP to PHX….wanna get away fares!

CB
1 year ago

Excited about planning a winter getaway to Grand Cayman. The points would be useful.

Steve
1 year ago

My favorite use of SW points has been to have my college student fly from home to where he attends school. And back. Rinse, repeat 🙂

Lisa
1 year ago

These posts about the companion pass are so helpful. I wish I qualified for a business card! We earned a companion pass a few years ago when you could get two of the personal cards to help earn the pass, and it was a great almost two years of unbelievably cheap flying for my husband and me. We were going to work on earning another when the policy changed.

Kristin
1 year ago

We have been lucky enough to secure companion pass the last 4 years by working sign up bonuses & such. With 2 college students out of state, and our love of Vegas & cruising, this has saved us thousands.
Hoping to secure it again with the new bonuses for the next 2 years–and want to go back to HAWAII!!!

Jake
1 year ago

Using points for short domestic flights

Katie Collins Miller
1 year ago

Austin to NYC with our companion pass!

Jeff
1 year ago

jacksonville to Nashville

Hideki Yamada
1 year ago

Absolutely the redemptions for domestic air. Free flights make vacations even sweeter!

Courtney
1 year ago

My favorite redemption is for last minute ski trips. We watch forecasts during the week and if there is a monster snow in the forecast for CO or UT we get a SW direct flight on a Thursday and hit the pow! Last minute weekend get aways are the best. Also – planning ahead and getting some great rewards value out of a points trip to Mexico or the Caribbean isn’t a bad way to go either! LOVE southwest! Going for companion pass next to really max my points value.

Susan
1 year ago

Favorite use of Southwest points is to take trips to see my daughter!

MMA
1 year ago

Companion Pass is the best travel deal.

Peggy Lynch
1 year ago

My favorite redemption is being able to visit our son in San Antonio. He just moved there alone and SW has a direct flight..So easy
STL-SAT

Mario Carr
1 year ago

I haven’t done it but would love to use them to go to costa rica

Steve
1 year ago

Houston to San Jose Costa Rica It was only about 8000 miles each way!!

Uri
1 year ago

Flying to New Mexico

Samantha
1 year ago

Our favorite redemption was a family trip from Florida to New Hampshire just before my husband deployed. We have 4 kids and this was our last whole family trip before the older kids moved out of the house and started their new “adult” lives. I planned this trip for a whole year, we cashed in my husband’s Marriott points for Southwest points and a free week at a Marriott hotel, we thought we would get the companion fare because he met the requirements however, we missed out when they stopped giving it to Marriott point transfers. Still we had a great trip, free flights for 5 of us, free week in a hotel, I also used a Groupon to get 1 night at the Omni Mount Washington Hotel as a treat.

Regina
1 year ago

I’ve flown quite a few places on Southwest. My favorite was Orlando.

Melody
1 year ago

Earned my Companion pass in spring of this year thanks to the 60000 pets for taking out the card.

Donna mp
1 year ago

My favorite redemption was my SIL telling me that one year they could not come on their yearly Christmas visit from LA to Chicago with her family and I was able to book her trip for her.

Jarred
1 year ago

Direct fly from my small home airport to Vegas. Fast, inexpensive, and free checked bags.

Kelci j
1 year ago

Liberia, Costa Rica!!! Love Southwest and Love having the Companion Pass!

AJB
1 year ago

Favorite redemption: Southwest Companion pass for 7 years running!
LAs- MDW
LAs_ EWR
Las- CABO
LAS – CANCUN
LAS -DENVER
LAS-Orange
LAs-LAX
LAS – BUR
LAS-FLL
LAS-RENO
LAS-SFO
LAS-LIBERIA
LAS -HAWAII x6 near future!!!!!

stephanie
1 year ago

Best SWA redemption is traveling on points and a COmpanion Pass to visit grandkids in LA area. Also bringing family to visit me in FL for Thanksgiving !!

stephanie
1 year ago

Best SWA redemption: using points and ccompanion pass to visit daughter and grandkids in LA area!

Dean
1 year ago

Last fall I opened both the consumer and business SWA cards when they had the 60,000 mile promotions. (I had to register a new LLC which cost a few hundred dollars. ) With careful timing we had our companion pass by the end of February.

Conservatively, we’ve saved about $3500 already and expect overall savings of about $8000 in the 22 months with the pass.

If you can make SWA your primary airline, this is the best thing for you.

We’ve been banking our miles for retirement (effectively tax free) and ready to use the $4000 value when cash is limited.

Thanks for your help, MMS.

P.S. If spouses have solid individual credit establishes, you can easily beat the 5/24 rule at Chase. Don’t get extra cards on an account, to make sure the cardholder doesn’t get made a joint holder.

Maria
1 year ago

Love your suggestions for earning the Companion Pass. So far this year, we have made 5 trips to CA, 2 to TX, 1 trip to AZ and 1 to New Orleans!!! We already have trips booked to CA, TX and Boston for next year! I pay all my utilities thru the Southwest Visa and use the Southwest Shopping App and the Dining App too! It’s amazing how quickly the points add up. I also frequently check the Southwest website to search for added bonuses. This is all because you at Million Miles Secrets keep me updated on all and everything Southwest!!! Thank you so much 🙂

Cory
1 year ago

Orlando with the fam

RG
1 year ago

Favorite redemption was Cabo San Lucas

NKA
1 year ago

I’ll go most anywhere they fly- all cities interesting to dig around in

P.C.
1 year ago

The Big Apple —-anytime of year

JM
1 year ago

My favorite redemption is wherever I can get my entire family together! This past year 16 of us used points for a huge family trip to Disney…that was stellar! And anywhere there’s a beach is a place I want to visit in general.

Matt
1 year ago

Love visiting California

William Lewis
1 year ago

My Favorite Southwest Points Redemption is using them to take trips to see my grandchildren in Texas!

JFA
1 year ago

Anywhere warm in January

Eric
1 year ago

My favorite Southwest redemption is anywhere on a beach. Just booked a family trip to TPA to spend some time on Clearwater Beach.

Katie
1 year ago

Earned our companion pass this year, and using only the points earned with minimum spend on the personal + business cards, our family of 3 has already flown cross-country to San Diego, booked flights to Belize and Costa Rica for early 2019, and will have enough left over points to redeem for a fall flights to Phoenix for a Grand Canyon road trip. Unbeatable deal!

JRG
1 year ago

My favorite redemption is SLC-LAS; Vegas, baby!

Cyndi
1 year ago

My favorite redemption with Southwest points was this past Spring to fly into FLL to go on a cruise.

Tari
1 year ago

My favorite redemption is anywhere we can fly to scuba dive (yay for free bags too!). Have a trip to Belize booked for December and Tulum (Cancun) in March.

ej
1 year ago

My favorite redemption has been a trip to Maine using the companion pass.

Wendi A
1 year ago

We used the sign up bonus to fly to MCO and visit Walt Disney World!!! What a trip full of memories!